Posted in Uncategorized

“Risk is what keeps us young, isn’t it, darling?” Facing my Social Media Fears.

I did a thing. An Instagram thing. I am somewhat of a singer, to the extent where I sang in everything at school and have been known to post videos to YouTube, sing in pubs and annoy all of my friends by turning every conversation into a musical.

I love singing. I love music. I don’t think this earth is much without music. My issues with music are my own confidence and self-esteem. I am terrified to share music with people. So, today, I did a thing. A risky thing.

On Saturday, I lazily played my ukuele in a somewhat hungover state. I had a husky voice and my uke was untuned and has been in desperate need of some new strings for far too long but, alas, I learned a song called Beyond the Sun. I heard Beyond the Sun on Nashville last year, being performed by Lennon Stella. It was writted by Claire Guerreso & Aaron Espe. I fell completely in love with it and found the chords. It was pretty simple so I took a video playing it.

Today, I decided to upload it to Instagram. I figured, “Why not?” If it’s good, people will enjoy it and maybe give it a ‘like’. If it’s bad, they’ll ignore it and that’s fine, right?

I want to bite the bullet. I want to share the things that are important to me. I hope this is a step in the right direction because, man, I’d really like to share my music with people one day and I’d really like them to think it’s good.

So here it is, fifteen seconds of my voice and a little lovable instrument that has opened up a new world of music to me. I hope you like it. Most of all, I hope I don’t delete it.

Leave a Reply

