Posted in About Me, education, People, Uncategorized

“You can make anything by writing.” C.S. Lewis.

“If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” Toni Morrison.

This is a short one. I love writing. One of my biggest achievements growing up was the 36-page “novel” I wrote about a girl named Molly and her challenging life (cheating parents and wanting a horse really badly). I also wrote (and illustrated!) a short story called “Concentration”, which was about a German soldier who helped a family escape a concentration camp during World War Two which I would force everybody who visited my house to read.

As a child, I was convinced that I would grow up to be a world-famous actress and author. I would write books, turn them into screenplays and be the star of every adaptation. I’m not quite there yet, but who knows what the future holds?!

As my teenage years came around, I strayed a little from the world of fiction (though I’m still very 50/50 with the projects I whimsically jump into – and drop – every now and again) and discovered a love for reporting. You could call me a gossip or an airhead but I just love knowing what’s going on and telling everybody about it. I love researching and learning and I realised that journalism was definitely something I would gladly consider delving into.

This year, at university, I decided to take full advantage of an offered unit: Film Journalism. This was the first time that my degree had offered any kind of journalism unit and so, of course, I snatched it up immediately.

I am very grateful to say that my good friend Matt read my work and decided that he wanted to publish it on his own film and TV blog, Photoplay Reviews (which you should check out ASAP because he is a wonderful writer and far more intelligent than me!). Matt has uploaded a review I wrote of the incredible film Spotlight (McCarthy, 2015), which was released on DVD yesterday, as well as an article I wrote which explores nerd culture, fandom and their rise to power in film and popular culture.

I’ve included a couple of extracts for you…

Spotlight’s ensemble cast is filled with household names, such as Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton and Rachel McAdams, but the real focus of this film is the story. That is the beauty of it. McCarthy could have easily used the Hollywood cast to produce a film filled with dramatic scenes of shouting and crying. It isn’t. Spotlight is, in fact, a story told slowly. It is told with precision and clarity. It is not rushed. Team this with its bland colour palette of browns, greys and light blue; it is difficult not to feel as though you are watching the story take place before you. Everything about Spotlight, from its dialogue to Masanobu Takayanagi’s cinematography, emits an air of the everyday. Spotlight is a real story about real life. Its focus is the truth and, for that, it does not need a lead actor or special effects. (Spotlight Review, Davis-Fletcher, 2016.)

SPOTLIGHT-INTL-POSTER
Poster courtesy of eOne Films International

No longer do today’s youth want to be the pretty, sporty or unintelligent individuals the ‘cool kid’ stereotype used to require. All of a sudden, the ‘in thing’ is to be clever, to binge-watch television shows and to stand in line for hours at comic book movie premieres. Nerd culture has become the new normal. (Nerd Culture, Fandom and their Rise to Power in the Film Industry, Davis-Fletcher, 2016.)

If they sound at all interesting, I’d love it if you would read them and tell me what you think in the comments. It takes a lot for me to share my writing these days. That high self-esteem I had as a child genius is gone. I would, however, love to continue writing similar articles so do let me know if I should!

If you missed my last post on the tragedy that is the cancellation of ABC’s Nashville, check it out here

Leave a Reply

