Posted in About Me, People, People and Lives, Uncategorized

“You say you’re all dark and twisty. It’s not a flaw, it’s a strength.”

I have had some truly bizarre experiences over the past couple of days and I just had to share them somewhere. For about two days now, I have been feeling wonderful. Really. I can’t stop smiling, I’m laughing a lot and I’m generally in a really blooming good mood.

This past Monday was what I am calling my “last hoorah.” My course-mate held a house party which I attended with a few of my Film Studies friends and it was utterly fab. I played beer pong (badly). I danced (badly). I laughed (a lot) and I said some heartfelt goodbyes (or “see you later’s” as I’d prefer) to some people I care very much about. I was pretty sad to go but I also had such a nice night, which I know I will treasure in my memories of university forever, so I wasn’t overly emotional. Now, I just feel happy. I feel blessed to have been a part of such a lovely bunch of true characters and I know that I have made friends for life.

So, what is the point of this post?

Well, since I’ve been in my good mood, a lot of people have been talking to me in public and it has been strange, to say the least. Now, I’m not saying that I am usually a horrible person. In fact, I like to believe that I am far from it. I think I am conscientious. I smile at strangers on the street. I am always polite (sometimes, too polite).

Since my mood has been this good, however, I seem to be attracting some unwanted attention in the way of random men saying things to me that I’m not overly comfortable with.

This isn’t the first time this has happened, and I’m sure it won’t be the last, but it has got me thinking. Does my good mood make me seem more approachable? Do I look like it’s okay to say strange things to me or is this purely coincidental?

I feel as though I now have to revert back to my old shy ways. I do smile at strangers but I don’t typically walk down the street smiling to myself as I have been this week. I usually walk with my head down, but I haven’t done so this week. Perhaps my looking happier makes me seem approachable and I am, therefore, making myself a target for strangers.

Why is my looking happier making me a target for cat-calling or inappropriate innuendoes about bananas in ASDA?

Maybe it isn’t. Maybe I’m over-thinking, a common trait of mine. It is, however, a darn shame that I feel like I need to be unhappy in order to feel comfortable walking down the street or doing my food shopping.

My mum always tells me to take it as a compliment, which I try to do, but, really, it’s just weird and I’m not a fan.

I don’t exactly have a point to make in this post. I just wanted to share my stories. I will, nonetheless, be trying hard not to let these instances alter my mood. I love being this happy. I love smiling this much. Long may it continue.

Until next time… That’s all, folks!

 

Leave a Reply

