Posted in Film and TV, Reviews, Uncategorized

Fuller House: A Series Review.

As I pointed out in my last post, I recently watched Full House for the first time after I noticed its presence on Netflix. It, along with a number of other old school American shows like The Brady Bunch, was always on my TV bucket list so I went all out and binged the lot. Eight seasons in two weeks, along with job interviews and having a life. It was a sacrifice but somebody’s got to do it!

Full House
Way Back When. Photo courtesy of Full House Wikia.

After being somewhat disappointed by the finale of Full House, I was intrigued to see where Fuller House takes off, especially since Michelle Tanner (played by Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen) would not be making an appearance on the show. I was excited to watch the revival, not just to see what the characters are up to twenty years later, but because I didn’t feel like the final episode gave a lot of closure. In a way, that was good because the show is about a family and their life and, of course, people’s lives change constantly but I would have liked something more. Are D.J. and Steve back together? Will Joey ever find love? What about Danny? How would Stephanie handle high school? I had so many questions, none of which were answered, and I needed to know. ASAP.

What strikes me most about Fuller House is how self-aware it is. It’s really quite a beautiful thing. Not just because of its constant use of nostalgia for the original show, which is truly wonderful and hilarious, but from its pop culture references to itself! I don’t want to spoil any jokes but a number of its funniest moments are about the actors in the show, past and present. The jokes based towards the twins are my favourite, but you oughta know that there is a joke that D.J. makes about Dave Coulier as she walks out the door with Steve that had me in hysterics.

The jokes are simple and, some may say, cheap but I believe that they make the show what it is. Many of its jokes bounce off of the fact that Full House was an incredibly iconic show and still holds a place in the heart of every one of its fans. There isn’t much to think about in terms of Fuller House. It’s an easy watch but its simplicity gives it a feeling of homecoming. Its constant references to Full House make it the best possible revival Netflix could have created. The love for the show that the cast has is obvious from the get go and their on-screen chemistry, as well as their bond as real-life friends and colleagues, is shockingly beautiful. Two decades have passed since the final episode of Full House and they still look like they are having the best time together. It is refreshing.

A show that sees its cast having fun is a show that has its audience having fun. Fuller House is aware of what it is. It knows that it is nothing without its mother show and so it doesn’t try to be anything new. It doesn’t overly push to try to appeal to a brand new audience, because they know that pretty much everybody watching will only be doing so because of their love for Full House. The first episode, however, touches upon the whole premise of the original show so that audience members who are showing this to their children (which they inevitably are; after all, it’s not just the Tanner kids that grew up and had their own offspring, the audience did too) don’t have to worry about answering lots of questions. It is extremely easy to sit back and watch Fuller House with no background knowledge of the show and still have fun and enjoy the jokes.

The cast is just as talented as they were back in the day. Seeing how far they have all come and knowing about their struggles over the last twenty years, it was amazing to see how they have all bounced back and are doing so well in life.

All three leading ladies do such a beautiful job of reprising the roles of D.J., Stephanie and Kimmy. Their performances were heart-wrenching, sincere and refreshing. Their bond is hugely obvious and the way that they bounce off of each other is mesmerizing to watch.

If there is anything I could say I don’t like about Fuller House, I would say that I would love the former leading men to appear more. Bob Saget, Dave Coulier and everybody’s favourite uncle, John Stamos aren’t in every episode and, I won’t lie, I miss those guys! When they do appear, however, they are bloody brilliant. They are hilarious and, again, it is completely and truly evident that they all still love each other very much.

Also, I really miss the old theme song. Though it has grown on me, I have such a strong love for the original recording by Jesse Fredrick that Carly Rae Jepsen‘s version will never quite be the same.

In all, I do believe that Fuller House is a truly wonderful tribute to Full House, its incredible cast and crew and the love its audience still has for it twenty-one years later. I am very excited to see the new season next year. I believe that it has set itself up perfectly to be a great show by its own right. Through the series, it became its own show more and more and, now, I am heavily invested in Fuller House as its own series, rather than an attachment to Full House. It is a credit to Jeff Franklin and it is going to go far.

I should add credit to Netflix for bringing Fuller House to our screens. This revival was resuscitated so perfectly that I just cannot wait to see the result of the other revivals that have been planned to grace our Netflix screens (Gilmore Girls, anyone?).

Leave a Reply

